San Diego Sports Arena

3500 Sports Arena Boulevard
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 225-9813

Hockey Capacity:

San Diego Flash (WISL) 2000-Future
San Diego Sports Arena

Former Tenants:
San Diego Rockets (NBA) 1967-1971
San Diego Mariners (WHA) 1974-1977
San Diego Clippers (NBA) 1978-1984
San Diego Gulls (IHL) 1990-1995
San Diego Conquistadors (ABA) 1975-1975
San Diego Wildcards (CBA) 1995-1996
San Diego Barracudas (RHL) 1993-1996
San Diego Gulls (WHL) 1966-1974
San Diego Mariners (PCHL) 1977-1978
San Diego Skyhawks (WHL)
San Diego Hawks (PCHL) 1978-1979
San Diego Gulls (WCHL) 1995-1998
San Diego Sails (ABA) 1975-1976
San Diego Breakers (IVL)
San Diego Friars (WTT)
San Diego Sockers (CISL)(MSL)(MISL)

Ballparks Virtual Mall
Arena Resources
Other Resources
Amazon.COM Stadium Books
Pro hockey in the city of San Diego dates back to the 1948-1949 campaign, when the San Diego Skyhawks won the first Pacific Coast Hockey League championship. However, the glory was shortlived. The Skyhawks lasted only two seasons.

The PCHL changed its name to the Western Hockey League in 1952, and it took 11 years before pro hockey returned to San Diego behind the efforts of Bob Breitbard, a San Diego sportsman. Acceptance of the franchise depended on Breitbard's construction of a suitable arena in San Diego.

Following unanimous acceptance by the PCHL league's directors, construction of the San Diego Sports Arena began. The franchise was granted for the 1966-1967 season and the $6.5 million arena was completed on schedule. It is the same arena the Gulls use today. The team nickname "Gulls" was selected from a write-in contest. Commercial artist Dick Thompson then created the club mascot, "Sandy Gull."

More than 315,000 fans attended Gulls games in that first campaign. Although the team never finished higher than third over their eight seasons of play in the WHL, many feel that the Gulls were the most successful team in the league - indeed, of any franchise outside the NHL.

The WHL and the Gulls ceased operations after the 1973-1974 season, but it wasn't long before hockey returned, this time for the 1974-1975 season in the form of the San Diego Mariners of the World Hockey Association. This vagabond franchise was once again purchased from the league, this time by Joseph Schwartz, who moved the club to San Diego. The Mariners finished in second place in the Western Division, defeating Toronto before losing to Houston. Attendance was steady, as the city embraced its new club, averaging 6,080 for the 1974-1975 season at the Sports Arena. Lacroix led the club with 147 points. In 1975-1976 however, defense collapsed, and the team fell to 36-38-6, and third in the Western. The Mariners made the playoffs, defeating Phoenix before losing to nemesis Houston. Schwartz however had defaulted on the team in January 1976. The Mariner players decided to continue playing nonetheless, for the good of the team, even though they were now volunteers. This paid off, as Ray Kroc purchased the club, and has his San Diego Padres management run it. The team had a winning season, but crowds were not as expected. The team lost to Winnipeg in the first round. Kroc sold the club to a Florida group planning to move it to Melbourne (Florida), but the team folded in summer 1977, as did Calgary and Phoenix. Had Kroc been patient, the team might have made the NHL in 1979. San Diego, still using the nickname Mariners, joined the Pacific Hockey League. The team name changed to Hawks in 1978-1979, the PHL's final season.

Information on this page is from The Complete Historical and Statistical Reference to the World Hockey Association 1972-1979; by Scott Adam Surgent as written by Andrew Stiffler and Randy Schultz - January 1993

On June 13, 1998 - Scott P. Belfield writes: The WHL and San Diego Gulls folded after the 1973-74 season due to the league losing its largest venue as SDSA Operator Peter Graham brought in the WHA Mariners as prime tenant. And, the San Diego Skyhawks supposedly played for the PCHL Championship versus the Seattle Ironmen in 1944-45. I would love to hear if you know who won that series. I have added your URL as a link on my web pages. Thanks for providing the great information. Go Gulls !!!

Seating LayoutSeating Capacity
Full House (end stage)14,400
Center Stage Boxing16,100
Half House8,900
Ice Hockey12,800
Ice Show13,000
Ice Capades Stage Show12,000
In The Round14,800
Circus Center Stage Portable Chairs1,670

October 14, 2010
Copyright 2010 MediaVentures

San Diego, Calif. - A subsidiary of the San Pasqual Band of Mission Indians has agreed to pay $1.5 million over five years for naming rights to the San Diego Sports Arena, according to the San Diego Union Tribune.

The arena will be renamed Valley View Casino Center under an agreement approved by the San Diego City Council.

Arena operator AEG Management SD LLC will receive about $1.5 million over five years. AEG, which subleases the property from San Diego, will pay the city about $30,000 a year, plus annual "escalations", according to a city report.

More than 40 years old, the arena near Ocean Beach has historical significance to San Diego. It's been home to professional basketball, soccer and hockey teams, a venue for shows and concerts, and hosts the weekly Kobey's Swap Meet.

AEG has put about $3.5 million into improving the arena over the last two years, general manager Ernie W. Hahn II told the newspaper. The work includes a new arena club and lower-level seating.

The arena is generating more revenue, according to a city report. In 2008, revenue reached $389,000 and in 2009 revenue rose to $405,000. This year, revenue is expected to reach $466,000, an increase of about 15 percent.

New York Raiders / New York Golden Blades / San Diego Mariners

Madison Square
Madison Square
Cherry Hill Arena
Cherry Hill Arena

San Diego Rockets / Houston Rockets

Hofheinz Pavilion
HemisFair Arena
Hofheinz Pavilion
Compaq Center
Compaq Center
New Arena
New Arena

Buffalo Braves/San Diego Clippers/Los Angeles Clippers

LA Sports Arena
LA Sports Arena
Arrowhead Pond
Arrowhead Pond
Staples Center
Staples Center

Help us provide a better web site by sending us your Comments, Suggestions, Complaints, Contributions, Additions, Pictures, or Literary Works to the
Ballparks.COM Webmasters

BALLPARKS © 1996-2017 by Munsey & Suppes.